jncsdad217

333 Words About Royal Rappin’s

In 1970s, 1979, disco, funk, gospel, Isaac Hayes, Millie Jackson, record collecting, religion, Rich's House of Vinyl, soul on October 24, 2013 at 4:46 am

On a recent morning, I was sitting in my living room, enjoying Millie Jackson and Isaac Hayes’ 1979 album, Royal Rappin’s, when I heard a knock at the door. I discovered a very young boy and a very old man standing on my porch, anxious to speak to me about God and what He wants/doesn’t want.

As I was greeting my visitors, I realized that Millie and Isaac were in the thick of it, it being their salacious rendition of the rockin’ disco hit, “Do You Wanna Make Love” (sample lyric: “Do you wanna make love/Or do you just want to fool around”). Cleverly intuiting that the Jehovah’s Witnesses at my door were not interested in a debate over the pros and cons of making love, I slyly reached over to squelch the volume on my record player, which was conveniently next to the door.  I then listened as the boy preached the gospel to me and asked me if I thought God cared more about money and material things than a loving family. I said no, He probably didn’t, and as the boy agreed, he pointed to the scripture that confirmed our shared belief.

He and the older gentleman then handed me a copy of The Watchtower and asked if they could come back some time to discuss it with me. I did not flat out refuse their suggestion, though I am not sure when that meeting will take place.

As the Witnesses moved on to my neighbor, I returned to Millie and Isaac, who were continuing to discourse on the power of getting it on. Romance and sweet lovemaking are the topics Millie and Isaac preach about on Royal Rappin’s. Opening with the seductive “Sweet Music, Soft Lights and You,” wending their way through Foreigner’s “Feels Like the First Time,” bumping’n’grinding through the aforementioned “Do You Wanna Make Love,” before climaxing with a cover of the Anne Murray sapfest, “You Needed Me,” it’s all about the love, L-U-V, on Royal Rappin’s.

Leave a Reply

