jncsdad217

Rich’s Daily Record 001: 333 Words about Tom Jones Sings “She’s a Lady”

In Rich's House of Vinyl on August 1, 2012 at 12:41 am

And now, 333 words inspired by the 1971 album, Tom Jones Sings “She’s a Lady”.

I can trace my enthusiasm for records all the way back to where it began: I was probably about seven years old and I had this little toy record player, along with a handful of 45 r.p.m. singles. A few of these singles featured a colorful parrot on the label, obviously the symbol of Parrot Records.

The Parrot Records happened to be Tom Jones singles. I don’t know that I had a clear idea who Tom Jones was at that point, but I do have vague memories of watching the parrot on the label spin around as Tom Jones crooned about a “Daughter of Darkness.”  I liked the parrot.

At first, Tom Jones was all about the parrot for me. And that parrot was one of the elements that started me on a lifetime of record collecting.

Flash forward 20 years. By now, I know exactly who Tom Jones is. One day, as my wife Donna and I are strolling around a flea market in a shopping center parking lot near the Northeast Philadelphia intersection of Cottman Avenue and Roosevelt Boulevard, I am excited to discover someone selling an entire stack of vintage Tom Jones Parrot albums for cheap.

I still owned those earliest singles in my collection, but the allure of stocking up on so much classic Tom at one time was more than I could handle. Or, perhaps, I accumulated the records over the course of more than just one visit to the flea market. In either case, I was soon the owner of a fine Tom Jones collection.

Tom Jones Sings “She’s a Lady” is one of those albums. By the time he rolled this one out, Tom Jones was sexy and he knew it. He probably even worked out, just like those LMFAO guys. Tom was at the top of his Tom Jones Game and he knew it, with a title track that allegedly features Jimmy Page on lead guitar and became Jones’ highest-charting hit in the United States.

Leave a Reply

