jncsdad217

Daily Record 2/9/11: Jacksonville City Nights-Ryan Adams (2005)

In 2000s, 2005, country, rock on February 10, 2011 at 3:53 am

My friend Jason is a big proponent of well-compiled greatest hits collections, particularly, two-disc anthologies that might take you a little bit off the artist’s most well-known path, but not too far. I’m thinking I could use such a double disc set of Ryan Adams (now that I think of it, I think Jason has pushed for just such a collection as well).

Adams has been around for years releasing album after album. I’ve been reading reviews (often glowing, occasionally not) of these albums for years. I’m interested but have never really taken the plunge. A two-disc anthology of Ryan Adams best tunes from the last decade plus would be welcome.

I do have a couple of his discs, including our Daily Record, the classic country-sounding Jacksonville City Nights. This was the second of three albums Adams released in 2005. Most of the songs have the sound and feel of country radio hits circa anywhere from the mid-’60s through the early-’70s. Even the CD cover art echoes the album sleeves of that period.

Depending on who you talk to, Jacksonville City Nights is either the best or second best of the three CDs he released in ’05 (the third of the albums, 29, gets little love from anyone, but the first, Cold Roses, has its fans). I haven’t heard the other two (hence the need for the compilation), but I like Jacksonville City Nights. In fact, I’d have to say that I like it best when it conforms to its genre exercise mission: when Adams strays into more modern singer/songwriter mode, Jacksonville City Nights seems to drag a bit.

Leave a Reply

