jncsdad217

Daily Record 2/3/2011: Oxford American Music Issue, 10th Annivesary Edition-various artists (2008)

In compilations, country, funk, gospel, record collecting, religion, rhythm and blues, rock, soul on February 4, 2011 at 4:02 pm

As I have alluded to a few times on this blog, I use a chance operation to decide what album or CD will be my Daily Record on any given day. I’ve thought about explaining how I make this decision and have very recently been encouraged to do this. It’s not going to happen today, but I think I’ve hit on a good way to illustrate how the Daily Record is determined. Stay tuned. I know you’re all sitting on the edge of your seats.

My point for now though is the surprising number of times a chance operation yields a result that makes perfect sense. Take the Feb. 3 Daily Record (I’m a day behind, but I’m catching up today), for example: The Oxford American 10th Anniversary Edition two-CD set.

While this was a random choice, it very nicely reinforces the entry I did back on 1/24 regarding the current Oxford American magazine/CD. I strayed from my random path that day, because I wanted to say something about the 2010 OA Music Issue while there was a still a possibility that you could find a copy at a nearby bookstore.

Listening to the current OA Music Issue CD had got me thinking about this 10th anniversary collection and then, lo and behold, it pops up as the Daily Record.

Anyway, if you like the idea of an enormous double disc mix filled with more than 50 songs in which the only threads that binds them is that the artists are from the American South and have been featured in one of OA’s Music issues (the first disc, Future Masters, focused on artists in the 10th anniversary issue; Past Masters includes artists found in previous Music Issues of the magazine), then this collection is something you seriously ought to check out. When you do, you’ll be able to listen to the discs and find other ways to connect the dots between, say Sister Rosetta Thorpe and Big Star.

The range of musical genres on this collection is beguiling, from blues to soul to bluegrass to country to jazz to gospel and to things that can’t easily be pigeonholed into any one genre. The span of years in which these songs were recorded (1928 to 2008) is also compelling, especially since the songs are most decidedly not arranged in chronological order.

Or just imagine this set of artists on one collection:

  • Elvis Presley
  • Lucinda Williams
  • The Residents
  • Little Walter
  • Isaac Hayes
  • Jerry Lee Lewis
  • R.E.M.
  • Staple Singers
  • [adopting K-tel announcer voice here] …and MANY MANY MORE!!!

I could go on, but my point is that if you think you ought to hear this CD and read the accompanying magazine, you probably should. And apparently you can: it appears to be currently available right here: http://store.oxfordamerican.org/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=Issue+63

I should emphasize that I am not a paid endorser of Oxford American and no salesman will visit! I just really believe that if you read thus far and are sufficiently intrigued, then tracking down the magazine and CD ought to be a no brainer for you.

Leave a Reply

