jncsdad217

Welcome to Rich’s House of Vinyl

In record collecting, records, Rich's House of Vinyl on October 5, 2010 at 12:09 pm

I wrote for my college newspaper, Temple University’s imaginatively titled Temple News, back in the mid-1980s. During that time, my Grandma French said to me, “I love when you write funny columns, but I don’t care when you write about music.”

Years later, when I took to the Internet with a blog, Grandma said, “I love when you write about your kids or about how you tried to fix the toilet seat, but I don’t care when you write about music.” Grandma said this despite the fact that, at that time, she was regularly telling me about the appearances of OutKast and Michael Stipe on Regis and Kathie Lee.  So, while on that Regis level, she was actually hipper than me, Grandma still didn’t care about the music stuff I wrote, which was fine. And, now that I think about it, it’s really not too hard to be hipper than me, as Grandma abundantly proved.

The blog that I am introducing would not be something in which Grandma French would be interested. Essentially, I’ve decided to divide my long-running blog, The Dichotomy of the Dog (http://marimbadog.livejournal.com) into two separate blogs, with this new one being called Rich’s House of Vinyl. DoTD will still be the site of my personal, humorous, generally non-music writing, while RHoV will be my “musical diary.”  For all I know, certain entries could overlap and appear on both blogs, but we’ll just have to see about that.

The way I envision it, RHoV will be an ongoing journal of my daily music listening. With each update, I’ll write about the latest record album, compact disc, or set of 45 r.p.m. singles to which I’ve listened. After reading a few entries, you may begin to wonder how I’m choosing what to listen to at any given time. For now, I’ll just say that I have a geeky random generation system and leave it at that. Perhaps, I’ll reveal more about that system as the blog evolves. Or perhaps that won’t be necessary.

These entries won’t exactly be reviews or purely non-fiction accounts of the history of the subject records; in fact, each entry could be very different from the previous or subsequent entries, depending on my relationship with the records in question.  I am hoping that, over time the entries I post here may begin to shed light on each other in some ways, but again, we’ll just have to see about that.

Some entries may be very short, while others will be longer. In either event, I’ll try to be entertaining and, occasionally, informative.

Whether the entries in this blog are short or long, it’s doubtful that Grandma French would have read them. But you can!

Leave a Reply

